Civic Virgin

Astnbllr

I bought a 95 Civic ex.
It has a d16z6 motor, I'm not sure how to tell which transmission.

I've been repairing small to medium sized engines for a long time, but I've never tried to modify a car before.

I figured this was the best place to start. I like Legos, and I hear civics are made of Legos.

I replaced my alternator today. It went pretty well.

While I was under the car though, I noticed some serious damage to the transmission housing, where it connects to the motor.

Also, I got a nice oil shower, so I'm thinking it's time to get serious about restoring this car.

And maybe modifying the crap out of it.

I'll play it by ear.

Does anyone have any suggestions for a good reliable cheap motor I can swap in with relative ease? I don't have much of a budget to work with, and let's say it's a good thing I'm resourceful where tools are concerned.

civteck

Respected
Registered VIP
Budget, use, intentions????

Sent from my boujea ass phone

Astnbllr

Like I said, I'm not trying to make it a race car. I want it to live forever. So I'm looking for the most bullet proof transmission within reason, same goes for the engine.

My budget is next to nothing. I'll have to buy parts in small increments, a hundred bucks or so out of each paycheck.

I'm not sure how easy it is to swap between d-series motors vs switching over to like a k-series or something.

But I'm looking for a bit of a challenge anyway. My biggest concern is part cost, rather than man hours.

Astnbllr

I suppose my first specific question is how to go about choosing a new engine and transmission.

I'd like the most durable transmission I can fit within reason.
The engine is secondary. The most important thing is that it fits the new transmission well, and also the car, obviously.

Today is the first day the transmission has given me real trouble. It needs to go soon.

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
You've already admitted you have 0 budget really.