Complete noob :/

vtecular

What's up guys? I just joined this whole Civic scene about 2 days ago, and I'm pretty effing stoked. For starters, this is kinda what I'm looking for in my Civic (2002 Honda Civic EX - 1.7L SOHC VTEC):

Please don't be too harsh on me, I don't really know brands yet haha

- AEM Short Ram Air Intake
- Perhaps a HKS Exhaust? I want an exhaust that has a deep sound to it, not too loud.
- I want to smooth out the ride as much as possible, and I heard that Tokiko is a really good brand for shocks and springs.
- I have NO idea what size my rims are on my stock tires, so if someone can let me know the exact measurement, that'd be great haha. I know I want Enkei EDR9's though.

Someone please help a brotha out and let me know your opinions and thoughts about all this! =)

mymmeryloss

RHD is where its at
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Welcome to CC.

Search the site and google for ideas and good deals.

Watch out for shitty knockoff parts also!

lowlife9

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
short or cold air intakes do nothing as far as performance so keep your money or get the cheapest ebay kit you can find and swap in a AEM filter.if you want deep tone exhaust stay away from canister style mufflers get oval shaped like vibrant street or apexi WS2 if you can afford it.

vtecular

short or cold air intakes do nothing as far as performance so keep your money or get the cheapest ebay kit you can find and swap in a AEM filter.if you want deep tone exhaust stay away from canister style mufflers get oval shaped like vibrant street or apexi WS2 if you can afford it.
So why won't a short air intake not do much as far as performance? Is it because the engine just wasn't built for that kind of modification to work well? I guess if it doesn't work, should I just not replace the intake at all?

Also, are there any SPECIFIC brands and types of exhausts I should be looking at?

lowlife9

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member