Help identifying this ECU

Discussion in 'Interior / Audio / Electronics' started by irfan44, Oct 25, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. irfan44

    irfan44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Pakistan
    hi i m from pakistan & we have a very different breed of Civics here. i own a 1999 civic which originally comes with D15Z4 non vtec. Until recently we didint even get the o2 sensors in them.
    Supposedly all 1996 + vehicles are OBD2 but i couldnt find my car's ECU anywhere on internet. nobody seems to know if its obd2 or what. it doesnt even has a 16-pin obd connector/DLC. it has a 3-pin DLC & a 2 pin connector.
    i just want to know abt the obd version of ecu & its wiring diagram if anyone has it. Also as it doesnot have an o2 sensor or Catalytic converter. so it has a POTENTIOMETER in driver side kick panel for adjusting the fuel trim.
    i want to know if an oxygen sensor can b installed on the existing potentiometer wiring?
    ECU P2C-W01
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  2. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,342
    Location:
    New York
    I've never seen a P2C.... I'm 99% sure it's OBDII.

    edit - It is in fact OBDI. I got my info mixed up.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2011
  3. reichbc

    reichbc "Brandon"

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    I think you have a replacement on your hands. THe d15z4 is supposed to run a P2E.

    That one is missing another plug. Leads me to believe it's OBD-1
     
  4. JohnS.

    JohnS. BANGARANG Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    19,342
    Location:
    New York
    You're right, that is OBDI. I got my info mixed up.
     
  5. irfan44

    irfan44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Pakistan
    The USDM or JDM models do get P2E but in Pakistan & Philippines its P2C.
    What abt the fact that all 1996+ vehicles comes with OBD2? & how to confirm it if its obd1 or 2. i m trying to say that is there another way of telling its version besides looking at the ECU. e.g distributor connections, engine wiring harness etc.
    btw there is 3rd plug with the engine harness. if u look closely u can see the green plug which connects directly to the dash harness.
    I m confused because i went for some diagnostics to a workshop. he connected his OBD software with the 16-pin to 3-pin converter & got the data. He told me that its obd2. its all confusing.
    & what abt the wiring/pinout diagram. anyone got it?
     
  6. reichbc

    reichbc "Brandon"

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Vacaville, California

    How many o2 sensors are on the exhaust system? If it's OBD-2, there should be one in the header and one either in the middle of or directly behind the catalytic converter. Any less, and it's not.


    I just had an interesting thought... Maybe the P2C is just a renumbered P2E for your country?

    Strange, yes, most 1996+ vehicles ARE OBD-2. Check underneath your driver side console for a 16-pin connector? OBD-2 transfers way too much data over that diagnostic plug to be done with a 3-pin conversion.
     
  7. irfan44

    irfan44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Pakistan
    There are no o2 sensors on the exhaust, neither their is a catalytic converter.the car companies here are not pushed abt environment friendliness lol. the non presence of the o2 sensors is catered for by installing a trim pot switch as shown in last 2 pics which controls the fuel mixture settings.
    It can b an option that its really a renumbered P2E. Btw does P2E has 2 plugs or 3 plugs?
    As far as OBD-2 16-pin connector is concerned, it is not there. but i have heard that OBD-2a ECUs didnt have 16-pin connector either as they relied on 3-pin.
     
  8. reichbc

    reichbc "Brandon"

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Vacaville, California
    Did not know about OBD-2a. I'll look up on that.

    You have a trim pot, just one? that would basically be your "o2 sensor" in terms, and if there's just one, i would assume it's obd-1.

    At this point, I'm lost, my friend. I'll do some more looking around and see what I can find. Sorry :cry::oops:
     
  9. irfan44

    irfan44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Pakistan
    waiting for ur kind response.
     
  10. BuddhaStyle

    BuddhaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Fresno ca
    Well what you have is a non vtec ecu it came off 2000 civic dx i you want to put in anther o2 sensor you going to have to rewire the sensor on the header all the way to the cate its more easy then runing it to the ecu that my way of doing it
     
  11. BuddhaStyle

    BuddhaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Fresno ca
    Or just get a p28 ecu it might work better
     
  12. irfan44

    irfan44 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thnx for the suggestion. but i think the P28 has 3 plugs but mine only have 2 plugs. will it be an easy swap without the pinout diagram?
    Abt wiring the o2 sensor. plz explain a little abt the wiring.
     


Loading...

Share This Page