How To: Remove 4th Gen. Rear Shocks/Springs.

Why49

Dat a big wing round eye!
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Removing 4th gen Rear Shocks/Springs

This is my first attempt at a how to, so here goes.

This is how to remove your rear shock and spring assembly on your 4th generation Civic. I did it on my '89 CRX, I'm sure it's the same for the hatch. This is a very easy thing to do and requires little or no mechanical skill. But I'm sure if you own and maintain a 4th gen, you have good mechanical skills.

What you need:

3/8" Drive Ratchet (two would be good)
17mm socket or 19mm, I had two different sized nuts (that didn't sound right :???: )
9/16" socket
17mm, 19mm, and 9/16" Wrenches (if you want to use wrenches too)

Step One:
Jack the rear of the car up and make sure you put it on jack stands, remove the wheels.

Step Two:
Use the 17mm socket to unbolt the strut fork, you'll need two ratchets or a ratchet and a wrench, one to hold the bolt and one to loosen the nut. This is where I had the problem with two different sizes, hopefully somebody didn't ghetto rig your setup. My left strut had a 17mm bolt and a 17mm nut. The right has the 17mm bolt but a different 19mm nut.

Step Three:
Remove the two 9/16" nuts on the strut tower in the trunk. My car is stripped out so I didn't need to remove any interior panels to get at the strut tower. There is a little panel you can pop off and use an extension on your ratchet to get at the nuts.

Step Four: