How To: Swapping a JDM B16A Gen2 (obd1) motor into a 99-00 Civic EX.

DetainedCivic

I haz SR20
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
This is my how to: I am no expert and their are other ways to swap in a engine but this is what I did and it worked. This is for a 99-00 Civic Ex Manual 5speed and the donor motor is a JDM B16A gen2 obd1 motor. Some of my info will work on other motor swaps and cars, but this is directed towards one application.

The start:
Ok as some of you make know my car has been out of commission for about a year. I spun a rod bearing in the d16y8 motor I had. Instead of doing the cheap thing and replacing the block I decided I wanted something with DOHC. I decided to do a budget swap because house payment, school payment and other s**t payment I really did not feel like spending MAD money on a swap.

Finding the motor and tranny
I went down to a local shop that sells JDM motors http://www.japaneseengineimport.com/eng/home.htm and looked around. Before I went here I tried my local junk yard and they were trying to rape people on prices. So I kept looking an at japanese engine I found a b16a complete longblock that came with all sensors and jdm engine harness. Make sure you get this harness.. So I was on my way.
Next I had a friend selling a 94 gsr tranny with linkages, axles,int shaft, slave cyclinder, speed sensor, and flywheel. Ordered an exedy clutch and b&m short shifter with shifter stabilizer kit. As you can tell gsr axles will work on a civic application.

What kind of ecu?
As you all know in order to get a obd1 engine to work in a 99-00 obd2b(yes 99-00 all civics are obd2b) car I had to get a conversion harness. I picked one of those up at www.jhpusa.com.
Now it was on to look for an ecu. Local guy had one he was selling that was a chipped p28 running a skunk2 program (no ebay crap). Of course you can use a p30 ecu or any other chipped ecu. But the p28 is a real good starting point.

How to Keep AC
So I had everything or so I thought.