Newbie Swap Question (4th Gen Civic)

Status
Not open for further replies.

AndromedaTech

5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Hey there everyone! I am a total newbie, but I am totally ready to learn. Here is the story - I have a 1989 Civic Si Hatchback that at this moment is completely stock. I have been the only owner since I bought it new many years ago, It has 170,000 miles on it, and since I may be coming into a bit of cash, I want to restore it. However, I do not want to restore it completely to stock specs. I want the outside to look the same (except it will be shinier with the new paint job). However, under the hood is going to be completely different.

Here is what I want to do: (dont laugh - remember I am just a newbie)

1. Swap the engine for a more powerful and faster one

2. Add cold air intakes and all of that

3. Put on some really nice suspension that does not lower the car too much if at all (it sits 8" off the ground right now, and I like it there)

I need advice on what parts I should get (ie what kind of engine (B16, B18, B20), what brand of air intakes and stuff, and suspension?)

All of that plus I am going to redo the sound system (the head unit is fine but the speakers leave much to be desired). Also, I am going to fix any little things that annoy me.

As for money, it is not too much of an object, though staying below $7500 would be nice. I found a place selling a B16A1 for $1600 + $250 to ship, I do not know if that is a ripoff or not, or even if it is the engine I should get.

I am definitely going to get a professional to do most, if not all of the work, how much would a professional charge to do an engine swap (average)? I mean are we talking $1000 or $2000 here? (of course assuming I am supplying the parts).

Thanks for reading this and thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

EVIL-cIvIc

P.I.M.P (BrONzE MeMbEr)
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member