Noise from master cylinder??

pick-n-ride

5+ Year Member
Ok, it only happens when i'm braking a bit ( the pedal isnt to the floor), theres a weird noise coming from the master cylinder or around it... I'm not an expert at all but I want to figure out what is it!? When my brakes are ''hot'', the noise disapears... I've never heard of this problem so one of you guys know what is the problem?? :???:

RonJ

Banned
Is the noise coming from the wheels or from the master cylinder on the firewall?

RonJ

Banned
Well, if the master cylinder is making noise, then replace it. Just make sure the noise is really coming from the master cylinder versus other components like the brake pedal.

Are the brakes spongy when pressed? Any functional problems with the brakes?

pick-n-ride

5+ Year Member
No, everything seems ok. I guess it's because of the cold weather but I don't know why there's this noise!

pick-n-ride

5+ Year Member
Maybe!! I mean its around there I can't be sure of where it's coming because its only happening when I drive...

projektej8

-------------------------
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
not to threadjack but I have a noise as well. Its a squeek and it is especially bad when its wet sounds like its coming from the wheels

RonJ

Banned
not to threadjack but I have a noise as well. Its a squeek and it is especially bad when its wet sounds like its coming from the wheels
If your brake pads are worn, then you may be hearing the brake pad wear indicator that produces a metal-on-metal squeaking noise. The fix is to replace the pads.

projektej8

-------------------------
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
If your brake pads are worn, then you may be hearing the brake pad wear indicator that produces a metal-on-metal squeaking noise. The fix is to replace the pads.
pads are nowhere near worn. any other ideas?

psgold1