Redlining issue

Discussion in '5th Generation Honda Civic (1992-1995)' started by JavyEj1, Nov 24, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. JavyEj1

    JavyEj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    So...my car redlines at 7000 rpm of course but it wont let me go pass 6000 rpm. I was told that maybe I wasnt mashing it properly which is impossible cuz there is only one way to mash it properly. Ive been looking and reading to see what could cause this but I cant seem to find anything. Help??
     
  2. Mysteryemotionz

    Mysteryemotionz New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    worcester
    Sounds like you might have a rev limiter

    Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
     
  3. civicspencer

    civicspencer New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    oklahoma
  4. MistahJuice

    MistahJuice 100% real juice Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    What engine do you have, Was it tuned to rev there, And what ecu do you have?
     
  5. JavyEj1

    JavyEj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Ok. It's originally a d15 but the guy I bought it from put a d16z6. It drives perfectly and it goes to 6000 rpm and shifts smoothly without any kind of hesitation or problem. Everything is stock as far as I know. I don't know anything else from here. This is my first Honda so I'm new to this. I'm originally a 4g63t person so I need help
     
  6. civicspencer

    civicspencer New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    oklahoma
    Does it redline how it should at 6K?


    ---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=34.877312,-99.509389
     
  7. JavyEj1

    JavyEj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Yes it does
     
  8. Blood_Shot

    Blood_Shot Banned Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    olive branch MS
    should have stuck with the 4g lol
     
  9. civicspencer

    civicspencer New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    oklahoma
    I'd check with the guy you bought it off of,
    Stock cam gears?
     
  10. JavyEj1

    JavyEj1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Huntsville, Alabama
    Yes it's very much stock. Cam gear as well and I still have my 4g. No way I'm letting that go lol. I've tried contacting the guy for 3 months now and no response from him at all
     
  11. 95eggsr

    95eggsr quad box

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    at 6000rpm does it sound like its hitting the rev limiter?

    i can almost gauruntee these two things

    -check ecu, make sure its a ecu that has a rev limit past 6k
    -inacurate gauge cluster, ive owned two hondas were the tach didnt read correctly
     


Loading...

Share This Page