Tires and Full Exhaust System Upgrades to increase MPG Question 2010 CIVIC lx

strikes

Hi All,

I'm a big amateur when it comes to cars, more a computer guy ;)

I have a couple of questions.

Firstly, I would like some advice on to which tires are going to give me the best MPG on my stock rims. I live in Dallas, we get some ice on the roads at least once or twice a year. I'm looking for the best all around tires that would yield the most MPG.

Additionally, is there a full exhaust system for my car that is specifically designed for boosting MPG? I'm not into all of the loud stuff by any means, something quiet but much better than stock.

Thanks for any advice in advance!

Billy.

Has returned ;-)
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
As far as one brand of tire being more fuel efficient than another, I doubt there is credible information anywhere to help you. There is some basic knowledge that can go a long way though. Keep your tire pressure in check. I keep a bicycle pump in my trunk so that it's quick and easy to top off the air in my tires. You could also have them nitro filled by a shop which typically performs better than air.

High performance tires generally have more traction than all-season tires due to the composition of the rubber. That traction also causes extra rolling friction, which your motor must overcome. It's not much more, but over the life of the tire it could be significant in fuel cost.

Aftermarket exhaust systems are built to decrease exhaust pressure, thus increasing airflow which should boost performance. On a stock civic engine, however, the performance gains are pretty minimal simply because the displacement of the engine is small. I've never heard of an aftermarket system specifically geared to boost MPG's, but that's not to say they don't help a little.