Urgent help with car starting and dieing while driving

MooreEk

*IM SORRY IF THIS POST IS LONG BUT I NEED TO GET AS MUCH INFO OUT TO GET THIS PROBLEM SOLVED AS I AM A HUGE NOOB AT THIS STUFF*

My 1998 civic cx with unknown miles on a d16y8 swap has been having major issues when trying to start...i recently just changed the spark plugs. Spark plug cables AND cap and rotor on the distributor. The car ran just fine for 2 weeks then all of a sudden one morning it took multiple key turns and cranks to start it and pressing gas peddle. Then driving down the high way the car dies and i started it back up with they key. Other times it has done this i keep it in 5th gear and frantically press the gas and it starts back up and has a huge back fire like a gun shot out the exhaust. Then other times it dies randomly when im just on a regular road and i cant start it up this way and have to stsrt it up with they key and pressing the gas.

Today was the worst when i was driving the car all day no problem and i stop and let it sit for an hour while i go eat and it would only crank and not start. The battery died and had to get it jumped. The car started right back up and i went home 30 miles away and the car died about 10 times but i started it back up with the above examples.

There are no codes other than the bank 2 o2 sensor that has been present since i bought the car. Any help would be appreciated.

97civicexgirl

Respected
What was the original motor in the car? D16y7? Did you change the ecu to the vtec ecu or leave the original non vtec ecu in the car? Check ignition coil, relay and most wiring you've put together. Maybe replace the whole distributor. Might be a short bit could just be the computer. Sorry couldn't be more help but let us know if you figure it out.

Sent from my SM-S327VL using Tapatalk

MooreEk