94 Civic Cranks, No Start, Coolant Loss Post HG Replacement - Seeking Insight!

boostfelon

Hello,

Now I'm not a professional but I can follow a technical manual and I can wrench gears.

Context: I replaced my head gasket + did a head job and got my civic back together after it began loosing coolant rapidly and overheating. The HG replacement was prompted because the shop detected emissions in the coolant. So, head was removed, surfaced to the steel (very-minimal warping) and reassembled using a better gasket. The car runs fine for a couple months, coolant level stable.

FF to last week: the first time this occurred, it overheated. I shut it down -- pulled over at a store, to my utmost disappointment the coolant is low! refilled the coolant, and after about 30-40 cranks later (/w jumpstart) it starts! and shoots a massive plume of white exhaust-smelling smoke out the back. The car proceeds to run normally for ~1 week.

Then we arrive to yesterday at the same problem but with a new symptom, The car started fine in the morning -- later (~15 min after staring) while trying to park the car started idle really rough (up-and-down, like it was overshooting, toning it down-- idle too low, toning it up-- idles and repeat) Temperature gauge to concerning levels, I pull over. Wait a while. Refill it. Now it won't start! Im just glad it's stuck in my garage now.

Today (1 day after it was parked): When I crank it over I hear some "water gurgling noises" for a couple seconds after. I noticed when the car was shutdown (prior to not wanting to start again) it made that same gurgling sound. strange.

Spoke with a mechanic and he said something along the lines of "sometimes when the HG is done something(I do not recall) is miss-installed and it causes this problem", "ive done many HG on this car and this is a point of interest". Unfortunately, I had to run to class and couldn't ask more questions.