B18B1 swap into a 2000 Civic EX

Jason00

5+ Year Member
I need to know what I need in order to put this motor in and still pass my inspection. I just purchased a slightly wrecked acura and pulled the motor. I'm looking for info on what types of mounts I need, and if there is anything else I have to do in order to be 100% legal. This is my first time attempting a swap so I wanna do it right.

Jersey8

B20: Detroit Muscle!
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member

jerk334

Hearts my SOHC
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
best advice i could give to my past self when i attempted my first swap. call a friend who has swapped before. just makes it easier,

Jdm18c00si

im doin a swap on my 00 civic si with a b18c motor.. pm us if you need some help with something.. but as far as i kno.. you should use ur harness wire and maybe an ODB1 ecu.. im new at this too.. its my first attempt and its still in the garage ready to be test drive 2morrow...

Jason00

5+ Year Member
Alright, well I appreciate the links Jersey, they helped a bit. I've got a buddy helping me who is somewhat experienced with swaps... but my 2000 EX is the first OBD2 he has dealt with. He's in love with the 5th Gen. hatchbacks so he deals with strictly OBD1

jdm18c... well the acura I ripped my motor out of is a '99 model so it's OBD2 as well... I believe so since I have the whole car I just took the ECU out of it too. Havn't been able to compare it to my civic to verify it works since i'm still driving it. But tomorrow I plan to park the civic and begin ripping the d series out and see where I stand with everything.

Jersey8

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
obd2 is broken into into two sections: obd2a (96-98) and obd2b (99-00). the ecu plug is different on both of these. your car is obd2b and so is the acura donor car so you should be fine. if you were to go from obd2a to b or vice versa, there are conversion harnesses you can get