b20 block + b16a2 head... is it bad?

mikeyisfresh

first and foremost, I want to go ahead and tell you that I'm new to this forum and tuning hondas altogether. quite simply, I'm a noob.

anywho, I've been doing some research on a 2000 Civic Si I plan on getting... and what I've come across is several people stating that the b20 with the b16a2 head is not a good combination because a b16a2 head revs higher than the stock b20 block was made for.

and it just so happens the Civic I'm getting just happens to have that setup... is there any thing you guys recommend doing to the block to keep bad things from happening?

here's the full setup of the car:
2000 Civic Si (b20 block with b16a2 head)
ARP studs
golden eagle conversion kit
hasport billet mounts
AEM fuel rail with pressure regulator
cold air intake
DC 4 into 1 header
stock ECU

will this frankenstein work?
I'd appreciate any help you guys can offer.

nicoalex2

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
As long as its built right you'll love it. Don't cut any corners and do it right

mikeyisfresh

Unless you rebuild the block don't waste your time. I dont believe you make much more power

Do some research about b20/vtec and see what comes up. Google is your friend

http://www.b20vtec.com/forums/b-series-tech/391608-how-high-can-you-rev-b20v-motor-without-hurting-motor.html
I've honestly been researching non-stop for the past 3 hours... lol.

but thanks for the link, though. so I guess after redline theres no power anyway. seems like something I should have already known... again, I'm new to this whole thing.

probably get a odb2 to odb1 step down harness and a chipped p28 ecu and some skunk2 tuner cam shafts

TigBitties

Frame Bangin
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
those camshafts will require a built head