1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

d15b wont' rev pass 4000 rpm??

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by andyvaj, Sep 28, 2007.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. andyvaj

    andyvaj New Member 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    wisconsin
    just got done with the d15b swap in my 98 civic dx coupe. i start it up and rev it up, but some how it won't rev pass 4000 rpm!! what is going on here. everything seem to be running right. take it out for a drive and it dose the same thing, can't go pass 4000 rpm! anyone know what the problem might be, has it happened to someone before, how did you guys fix the problem? thanks in advance.
     
  2. Szady

    Szady D-Series Master Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,201
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    First off, any CELs? The ECU could be in limp mode, thus not letting you rev past 4000rpm
     
  3. NFR_AP2

    NFR_AP2 New Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,406
    Location:
    New Jersey
    :word:
     
  4. jason_guy_yeah

    jason_guy_yeah New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Location:
    laurel, MD
    You've got the wrong engine in there. You need a d16 or at least a a y8 head on the block. You could also get an obd1 ecu but, you won't pass emmisions.
     
  5. Szady

    Szady D-Series Master Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8,201
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    He can use that motor just fine. He does need a OBD1 ECU though. Which, could be the issue here.
     


Share This Page