ef swap ideas

EFhatchguy

So i have an '90 hatch, and this winter i want to do a complete changeover swap with my buddy in his shop. I've been debating between 2 different motors though, and i cant really make up my mind. Its either a b20 or an h22, ive heard a lot of good and bad things about both though, so im kinda stuck here. any suggestions guys?

Blood_Shot

Banned
Registered VIP
yeah, not even close to the same type of swap

SiMAC

B20 would fit better. from what I hear the H22 sits pretty high in an EF, my friend has a boosted H22 in his ef 4 door and he has a hole cut out of the hood so the head will clear. But I'm not really an expert on swaps just what I've seen.

Blood_Shot

Banned
Registered VIP
b20 still might touch the hood brace, if it moves around alot, and you need an LS crank pulley to put it in an ef

I had a carbon fiber hood on my EF so I never worried about it

eflove66

the easiest swap in history is the b18a. the harness is direct plug and play for the obd0 models. may be worth looking into and it'll get you slightly more power than the b20 and you wouldn't have to worry about a obd0 to obd2 conversion

Civic Virtue

A H22A would be really crammed in there, I would recommend sticking with a B series in the EF/ED chassis. If you went H series you would experience this nasty "Prelude curse" we have to deal with too :???:

Blood_Shot

Banned
Registered VIP
the easiest swap in history is the b18a. the harness is direct plug and play for the obd0 models. may be worth looking into and it'll get you slightly more power than the b20 and you wouldn't have to worry about a obd0 to obd2 conversion
and youll be slightly slower than the LS but oh well

Alarm Guru