fix-it ticket on a vehicle i no longer own

Ian123

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
A month or so ago i got a fix-it ticket for window tint on my truck. It was at a DUI checkpoint so it was b.s. and I had 50% tint (legal) but somehow the officer's reading came back as 39%. Anyways I recently sold the vehicle and my court date for the ticket is next friday. If i bring proof of the sale will i still have to pay the ticket?

Kswest

Failboat sails at 9
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
And my gut feeling says yes, but I'm no legal professional. I would assume yes because no matter what, since you owned the vehicle while you were being ticketed, the ticket sticks with you, not the truck. I don't think tickets can disappear in the database, though it is human ran computing....

Last edited by a moderator:

JohnS.

BANGARANG
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
You owned the vehicle at that time. I don't see you shouldn't pay the ticket. If that wasn't the case, everyone and their mother would sell their vehicles to friends and s**t to get out of tickets.

98civb18c

Banned
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
try showing them your boner. worked a few times for me.

vjf915

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
Guys keep this civil or the thread gets closed.

I have to agree with most of the other people in the thread....since you owned the truck at the time, I think you will likely have to pay the ticket.

Kswest

Failboat sails at 9
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
I might be really high but this isn't the same thread I read like 5 minutes ago. Just saying. And OP, GLWT.

253eg

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
vjf went all homomod(<3) and deleted some posts lol.

lowlife9

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member