Need advice on new digital camera. Help meh Hatch of Doom and others!

TippinOver

reppin the 2StockCrew
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
whats going on guys?

so im now in the market for a new digital camera. I've been rocking my Sony Cybershot for several years now, and it was fine up until a while back when i really got into photography.

my question is this....what camera should i look for? my price range is under $500, and i'm looking for quality. I'd like to still be able to record video on it as well if possible.

let me know what you think!

thanks...

Jspec Ej6

Sam
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
if you put in another $100-$200 you could get a canon rebel xt

Genuine Rolla

Its PETEY PETE, y0!
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
You and I are in the same boat. I'm looking to get a D50 and you can usually find a whole kit under $500 on eBay. D50 is a pretty good camera from what i've been reading. i'm bidding on one right now so hopefully I win it.

Check out the review of the D50 at:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond50/

LowNotSlow

Aqua Teen Christmas Force
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
You and I are in the same boat. I'm looking to get a D50 and you can usually find a whole kit under $500 on eBay. D50 is a pretty good camera from what i've been reading. i'm bidding on one right now so hopefully I win it.

Check out the review of the D50 at:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond50/
The D50 is pretty much the best point and shoot camera out there.

However, the OP said he wanted to do video, which none of the Nikon D series can do.

The Canon G7 or S5 IS would be pretty solid choices, both shoot excellent photos (my mom has the S5 and has surprised me several times with it). The price is around your range and they can shoot some video as well.