OEM Clutch Or Exedy?! Lighter flywheel or a heavy one?!

Heyits750

Top Noobie
5+ Year Member
Hey guys, im a noob to this clutch thing so don't bash plz... =)

its about that time for a clutch n i was wondering why people choose the exedy stage 1 over the OEM one? Why is it that much better? even if ur car is stock will it make a difference? (last longer) And can some one explain to me about the flywheel .... What do u gain when you have a lighter one??

Thx guys

31dev31

Chillin' Canadian Member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
Aftermarket clutches are built stronger than OEM and will last longer depending on driving habits and conditions. Usually the engagement is harsher with an aftermarket clutch.

Lighter flywheels allow quicker revs and will help the car's acceleration a little better.

DarkCreep

D16Y8+T
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
Id stick with the stock flywheel.
After market lighter ones DO rev up faster, but all lose revs faster. I drove a car with a lightweight fly wheel and I dint really like it. Ill stick with my heavy OEM one.

31dev31

Chillin' Canadian Member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
Id stick with the stock flywheel.
After market lighter ones DO rev up faster, but all lose revs faster. I drove a car with a lightweight fly wheel and I dint really like it. Ill stick with my heavy OEM one.
Yeah especially when you're trying to drive up hills with a tiny 1.6 litre thats barely putting out 130 hp.

Szady

D-Series Master
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
If I remember correctly, Exedy makes the OEM Honda clutches. Most people go w/a Stage 1 clutch, b/c when you go to add power later on down the road, the clutch is capable of handling the added power.

Lighter flywheels make the engine rev faster, but that also means it drops faster. If you dont shift quick enough, it can screw up your shifting and sometimes stall it out.

DarkCreep

D16Y8+T
Registered VIP
Registered OG