Problem With My 2006 CIVIC PLEASE HELP!!!

jjaisusa2001

5+ Year Member
I have a 2006 Honda civic LX. My problem with it is that when I start the car, it would reve up to 3k and the car would start shaking and eventually stall. My mechanic told me that it was the Air Flow Meter because when He unplugged it, the car did not stall but the driving itself wasnt perfect. At stops the car would shake sometimes harder than others and it would have a 2 to 3 second hesitation when i press the gas pedal. I then changed the Air flow meter and the car ran fine fine I even drove it for a little while. But the bad news is after a 5 minute test drive, on my way back home the car stalled and from then on started having the same problem as before.
Someone please help.

By the way if you have suggestions please explain in detail what to do since I have little experience with mechanic work. Thanks in advance for all your help.

Tom

honda.co.jp
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Best advice i will give you is to take the car to a dealer, if you replaced the MAF like your mech said, then it's obviously not it, or something is causing it to short out or whatever, then car is still too new for ma and pa shops to even get correct guesstimations on. I know dealers are expensive, but i'd put my money on them getting it right the first time before anyone else, IMO.

jjaisusa2001

5+ Year Member
I just spoke to a mechanic and He said that the intake manifold is leaking and it will cost $200 to fix. So could that be what caused the problems I meantioned before??? Please advise. By the way Does anybody know if the 8th gen. civics have plastic or metal intake manifolds?

Tom

honda.co.jp
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member