Replace AC Compressor

Newby

Replace AC Compressor in 2000 Honda Civic EX

Hello,

My AC Compressor in my 2000 Honda Civic EX is bad. I took the car to a Machenic to look at and tested the AC Compressor. (I looked at what he tested) There is no Freeon in the AC Compressor now because it leaks. Furthermore, the AC Compressor is not engaged (bad) either. He told me to buy a used AC Compressor from a Junkyard to replace it then, if I want, I can take it back to him to charge the Freeon in for me. That way I can save $$$.

I just bought a used one from the junkyard yesterday. I'll replace it sometime this week but this is my first time to replace an AC Compressor, so I have questions for you guys to help me out before I do the job. Below are my questions:

1. Can you tell me the steps how to replace an AC Compressor?
2. Can I replace the AC Compressor and then take the car to a shop to charge the freeon by a Machenic?

I need your subjections guys.

Last edited:

codeman76

Take it to a shop that can evacuate the a/c system first. They can reuse your freon after the a/c compressor has been installed. Unless you had a leak and it is low or empty.

Newby

Take it to a shop that can evacuate the a/c system first. They can reuse your freon after the a/c compressor has been installed. Unless you had a leak and it is low or empty.
Sorry, I did not make it clear above. But here the information: I already took the car to a Machenic to look at and tested the AC Compressor. (I looked at what he tested) There is no Freeon in the AC Compressor now because it leaks. Furthermore, the AC Compressor is not engaged (bad) either. Then he told me to buy one from a Junkyard to replace it then, if I want, I can take it back to him to charge the Freeon for me. That's why I ask you for help.

codeman76