1. New Forum Software:
    We have finally upgraded the forum software due to it being so outdated. If you are having any issues with new forum please let us know. Please post any issues in this thread http://www.clubcivic.com/forum/threads/clubcivic-com-forum-upgrade.227221/

Reset ecu?

Discussion in '5th Generation Honda Civic (1992-1995)' started by imcmantis, Jan 15, 2012.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. imcmantis

    imcmantis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Milpitas CA
    Can you tell me where my ecu fuse is located?
     
  2. serversurfer

    serversurfer New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    The fuse box in the engine compartment. It's labeled BACK UP. Some people say it needs to be disconnected for about 30 seconds, but others say it takes about three minutes for a "full reset." :lol:
     
  3. young_

    young_ out on bail Staff Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    8,047
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I believe it's in the fuse box in the engine compartment. In my car it's the first fuse in the top row on the left. I've always heard to simply disconnect your negative battery cable, leave it unhooked for 30 minutes, hook it back up, crank the car and let it idle for 3 minutes.
     
  4. imcmantis

    imcmantis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Milpitas CA
    Thank you guys very much =) im just doing this because i got a new clutch, radiator and brakes dont know if it would help hahah
     
  5. lethal6

    lethal6 Das Auto! Staff Member Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    5,372
    Location:
    Tacoma.Wa
    I am just curious on what you think you will achieve by resetting the ECU after replacing the clutch, radiator, and a brake job?
     
  6. imcmantis

    imcmantis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Milpitas CA
    The right side of my engine bay was making a weird noise kinda like a vibration or a vaccum i was thinking it was ethier the radiator or the air intake which is stock.

    And I just reset the ECU and it actaully dramatically reduced the sound, i have a feeling it had something to do with the radiator.

    I wasnt expecting any horsepower increases or anything hahahha BTW just got this car 2 days ago. Soon im going to tune it up.
     
  7. jordan101

    jordan101 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    53
    Location:
    versailles
    how does the ecu have somthing to do with the radiator? can you describe the noise? i dont think the radiator would be making a noise.
     


Share This Page