smooth ride

559sixthgen

Hello everyone, I am new to this so bare with me. I recently bought a 6th gen ex coupe. I was looking for something newer but ended up getting this one because it had very low miles, decent interior ect. Well anyways. I would like to know what are some good brand coilovers to smooth out the ride. I plan on changing out the tires soon, but what else would i need to do. I don't want to lower the car. I just want it to ride smooth and quiet. Since my budget was 7000 when i was buying a car, and got this one for 2700, i have a little bit of financial freedom to spend for better quality parts. Though i would like not too spend too much, since i havnt owned a car before and would like to put money away for future problems that might occur with this car. Thank you!!!!

lethal6

Your Mom's Moderator
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
To be flat out honest, if you are talking adjustable coil overs, they aren't going to give you a smooth ride in any way. There are ones that ride better than others, but they are performance suspension and are built as such. If you are talking about the strut/spring combo that is on there factory, then you aren't going to get much "smoother" than that unless you go with a bag system. For that you are looking for ~$2500 for a full kit that is automatically maintained. That isn't installed.

What I would recommend, if you aren't going to lower the car, just go with a kit that is OEM or better quality and freshen up the suspension. Google would be a good place to start for reviews on different brands that are OEM quality and when you find what you are looking for, clubcivic has a store link right at the top. I can't really recommend any brands because lowering my vehicles is always the first thing I do unless it is 4x4 obviously. I am sure someone will chime in though.

XpL0d3r

I had a Civic once.
Staff member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member