1996 civic dc hatcback d16y7

bigkahunahockey

5+ Year Member
Ok guys I'm a Harley-Davidson tech, so that's why I'm here asking for some help. I just bought a 1996 dx hatch 5-speed with 131k miles. everything was stock and I was getting 36 miles to the gallon. I bought an AEM Short Ram Intake system part #22-413. I installed it with no problems. With just that mod my gas mileage went from 360 a tank to right now I'm now at 187 with just under a quarter tank left. I' have been driving it just like how I was driving it when it was stock. I drive 65 on the freeway. No I'm not hot-roding around, there is NO check engine light, I just replaced to spark plugs cause when I pulled out the old ones they had a gap lager then .044. If that would have mattered it would have shown before the new intake, I know, I wasn't thinking. I do not know the condition of the fuel filter, and have had some tell me that could be the problem. So any information would be appreciated. Mahalo (If it is supposed to be this bad, let me know, I'm a big boy, I will just throw the stock intake back on.):(

civic hatch

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
first do a good tune up on the car plugs, wires, filters, cap, rotor. start at the cheap and easy stuff to change, then see where your at. sometimes when parts get put on we tend to get a little heavy foot in stop light traffic, thats where most of the gas guzzeling happens.

hope i helped a little

Billy.

Has returned ;-)
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
sounds like you left the TPS or temp sensor disconnected, if all of a sudden your gas mileage went to s**t from installing an intake

DarkCreep

D16Y8+T
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
Does the temperature sensor have anything to do with gas mileage? I just re connected mine yesterday. I didnt really pay attention to the MPG's though.