Tranny options for 2000 Civic Si

surferdude

5+ Year Member
OK, I'm a noob here and I have tried my best to ascertain which trannies are compatible with my recently acquired '00 Si.

Short story - tranny housing was cracked at the drain plug by whomever serviced it last, creating a serious leak. Temporarily sealed it with JB Weld but I don't trust it and a new housing from the local dealer is $418, new tranny is $2,500.

What other trannies bolt up and will work with no modifications as well as typical pricing? LS? GSR?

Also, does anyone recommend the N.K.K. clutch kit available on E-Bay?

Thanks,

Derek

2000sicivic

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
gsr, type r trannies, but your type r has lsd

bcivic94

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
and LS. i think its ANY 94+ integra tranny

are you talking about integra tranny's have an lsd? if so i am 99.99999% sure only the type r came with it here.

surferdude

5+ Year Member
OK, it looks like the GSR tranny is probably the best/realistic option and I take it I need a hydro, correct?

Thanks for the heads up on the F1 clutch kit!

Evan.

iTrader EVERYthing
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Don't get the GSR tranny, it has longer ratios. While you are here, you might as well upgrade to a type-r transmission and get the LSD.

ekcivicdx

5+ Year Member
def find an lsd trans..i wouldnt put anything other than that or another si trans...all other b series trannies are longer

surferdude

5+ Year Member
I hear ya. I found one on E-Bay for $1500 vs. several GSR hydro trannies for $550. The one thing I'd like is a taller 5th gear for the Interstate and from all of the reading I've done so far, the GSR has it.

But you can't beat getting a LSD and a Type-R tranny...

Don't get the GSR tranny, it has longer ratios. While you are here, you might as well upgrade to a type-r transmission and get the LSD.

Evan.

iTrader EVERYthing
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member