Y5 swap in a ex

MyLittleTeg

OK so my y8 crapped out.... Pissed me off, went and bought a d16y5 with 80k miles. Used my y8 harness as I was told it would work. It will start up and idle fine, but you give it any gas and it falls flat on its face. It will bog and then will rev up but you can tell it doesn't like it... Already swapped injectors, distributor, and plugs....stumped as to what is making it bog....but the only thing I can't plug up is this. Any way to wire it in or bypass it?

" I’d rather lose by a mile because I built my own car, than win by an inch because someone built it for me. "

HeX

Authoritah, respected.
Staff member
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I'm not experienced in engine swaps, but if Im not mistaken your only two options would be to either swap in a Y5 ECU or remove the EGR valve and get or create an EGR block off plate.

MyLittleTeg

I'm not experienced in engine swaps, but if Im not mistaken your only two options would be to either swap in a Y5 ECU or remove the EGR valve and get or create an EGR block off plate.
Thanks, I knew that going from VTEC to VTEC-E would mess me up but not this bad. Just though it might surge a little. I'll get a y5 computer Monday. My buddy told me last night its in limp mode. New bringing over an odb2 scanner to figure out the problem

" I’d rather lose by a mile because I built my own car, than win by an inch because someone built it for me. "

mc360

boosted hx
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
You definitely need the y5 ecu to run the motor, y5 has roller rockers and different cam profiles than y8 (depending on your year you might need an obd2a or obd2b y5 ecu). So you put the Y8 injectors into the y5 fuel rail? if so I'm pretty sure they are larger and you will need to swap the y5 injectors back in for the car to run proper. To wire the egr valve you probably will have to run a few individual wire and pin them into the ecu at the correct pins

HeX

Authoritah, respected.
Staff member