1995 Civic Starting problems

Chickenhawk

I have a 95 civic with a 1.5, 5Spd. I have a brand new main relay, good fuel pump, (pump comes on when jumped), good spark, and a good ign switch (already tested), fuses ok (underhood and dash), Have good power and ground to relay main relay only clicks once when key is "ON II" been having too much trouble with this car, had it for about a month and started having an intermittent starting issue which led me to replace the main relay, and now i cant get it to run again, OK while i was typing this the key was on and the relay decided to click and i just started the car, BUT this is not the first time this has happened to me sometimes it starts, sometimes it doesnt, no matter how hot or how cold it is it just happens randomly.

Sorry for the huge write up i am at witts end and need help! any info is greatly appreciated!

P.S. i am new to the entire Rice Burner world i have only owned older fords before!

Last edited by a moderator:

mymmeryloss

RHD is where its at
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
How old is the battery? What condition is wiring in? What about the starter?

Chickenhawk

Battery is good, fairly new, starter is ok vehicle cranks over just fine, from what i have seen the only changes in wiring have been for aftermarket stereo install.

mymmeryloss

RHD is where its at
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
How many volts is your battery? What about out of the alternator?

Chickenhawk

battery is at 12.8 v alternator charging at 13 v vehicle cranks just fine main relay doesnt click to turn on fuel pump fuses all ok, brand new main relay,.

Chickenhawk

just got done messing with it again the terminal for one of the wires on the circuit board of the main relay were not soldered correctly , re soldered it starts up perfect thanks for the help anyways!!! i will reply if i come up with any problems again!

Chickenhawk