6th Gen CX wanting to swap

JDMNorth

Work In Progress.
5+ Year Member
Alright I have the stock egnine out of a 1998 hatchback and I'm wanted to swap it for something with a little more power then 106hp and 103lb/ft which many of you could understand, I don't have the money for a b16 or b18 but I was considering the 98 EX engine? or maybe and older SI engine? or something I'm not sure I'm pretty new to engine swaps with hondas but I can do the work I just need to know what engines will fit in my car. I would rather not have to make new mounts and i'd like to use my stock harness and not have to change hubs. let me know thanks!

Steven.

Formally Green 91
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
D16y8

DetainedCivic

I haz SR20
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
Keep the bottom end, get a y8 head and a z6/y8 tranny.

It's called a mini-me swap. Search on that and you will find out a lot of info about it. Also upgrading to a ex tranny will give you shorter gears = faster acceleration.

JDMNorth

Work In Progress.
5+ Year Member
what are the ball park power gains for that "mini-me" swap?

Steven.

Formally Green 91
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
easier just to do a full y8 conversion, the engine can be had for under $500

JDMNorth

Work In Progress.
5+ Year Member
thanks guys. but does the 5th gen engine fit into my civic? like the SIR hatch or something? and you have to change mounts for the Bseries engine right?

DetainedCivic

I haz SR20
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
thanks guys. but does the 5th gen engine fit into my civic? like the SIR hatch or something? and you have to change mounts for the Bseries engine right?
The 92-95 d16z6 will bolt in. It's a obd1 motor so there are a few decisions you have to make.