Finally cmpleted this project: Gamer PC

Billy.

Has returned ;-)
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Just wanted to share my latest creation that's not automotive related..

I started this by researching and piecing together the parts for this PC build in October 2011. I believe I have purchased and installed my last component for this particular machine. I have never built a PC from scratch before this one.

I call it Echellon III, meaning I've taken my technology skill set to the "third" level. My first ever computer was a Dell Dimension I dubbed Echellon I. I replaced the RAM in it, that's it. My second computer was a Dell E520 named Echellon II. I replaced the GPU, overclocked it with supplied software, and upgraded the PSU. Echellon III was a whole new learning experience...

Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K (unlocked version) - overclocked to 4400MHz @ 1.3V daily, up to 4860MHz @ 1.43V on air during benchmarking
Ram: G.Skill 2x4GB DDR3 1333MHz 1.5V 9-9-9-24 - overclocked 1600MHz and retimed latency at 8-8-8-21 @ 1.56V
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3
Graphics card #1: MSI N460GTX Hawk 1GB 256-bit - overclocked 850MHz core / 1700MHz shader / 2000MHz memory
Graphics card #2 (SLI mode): EVGA GTX460 1GB 256-bit - overclocked 820MHz core / 1640MHz shader / 1980MHz memory
Primary disk: OCZ Vertex 3 60GB SATA3 SSD - cold-boots windows 7 to desktop in 13 seconds
Storage #1: Western Digital Caviar Black 7200RPM 1TB HDD - cold-boots windows 7 to desktop in 44 seconds
Storage #2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 7200RPM 320GB HDD
Optical: LG BD/DVD-RW
Power Supply: Thermaltake Modular Black Widow TR2 RX 850W 69A@12V Bronze certified
CPU Cooler: Cooler Master V8 LGA1155 180W
Thermal Management: Various 120mm and 140mm fans in push-pull configuration
Controller: NZXT 5-fan digital touch screen monitor
Chassis: Cooler Master Storm Scout Mid-tower ATX steel case
Primary OS: Windows 7 Premium 64-bit
Secondary OS: Ubuntu Linux 11.10 64-bit