Head Gasket Replacement 1995 civic lx

krisma

5+ Year Member
What will I need to accomplish a head gasket
change?

First time post,go easy on me....

I did all the normal thread searches and didn't come across an exhaustive list or DIY for this so I'll tell/ask the following:

Car background:
I believe it's a head gasket because I'm losing coolant with no apparent leaks and I have a nice white cloud out of the exhaust when revved up above 2000 rpm. The problem started with an intermittent overheating problem which led me to change out a thermostat per the service manual. While on the test drive the car started overheating so I brought it back and parked it for the day. The following day I started work again and noticed the white cloud. I might have had a failing head gasket or water pump initially which might have caused the whole thing.

My background:
I am not an auto mechanic, but I am a licensed aircraft mechanic of many years. However, I don't have an extensive auto maintenance background (I grew up in a big city and never had a garage to tinker with cars in), my respect goes out to all of you auto mechanics.

Besides tools I have on hand the following:
  • Price quote of $30 to machine the head
  • Set of valve cover gasket/spark plug seals/and grommets
  • 92-95 Civic service manual
  • Civic Haynes manual
I plan to have the following:
  • new water pump
  • new timing belt
  • new head gasket
Any tips, comments, or suggestions you can provide will be appreciated. Things such as prices on parts, any other parts I might need,length of job, shortcuts, things to look during the change, things to look for after the change will help.

Thanks again!

sicksquishey37

5+ Year Member
you need new head bolts for a start, throw out the old ones there useless lol good luck

Civic Chris

5+ Year Member
I recently did a head gasket replacement on the same engine as yours. If you are looking to do the change correctly, I would recommend getting new head bolts.