Loss of power,backfiring,rich code

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by jfcivicEG, Oct 23, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. jfcivicEG

    jfcivicEG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Stratford CT
    My car started to have fuel problems after i installed my one piece DC sport headers, i changed the cat,spark plugs,wires,distributor,cleaned the throttle body and iac motor,changed coolant temp sensor for ECU and nothing had helped, the new headers switched the O2 sensor position from reading from one cylinder to all 4...could this be the problem? i also changed the 02 and i have no idea what it could be! Specs are 95 Civic Dx, 1.5L non vtec
     
  2. 2slo4u

    2slo4u wait4me Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,285
    Location:
    Tacoma
    Do you have a check engine light on?
     
  3. obracer12

    obracer12 New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    somewhere
    My first thought is a fouled cylinder.. my second is primary O2 sensor..

    you are throwing a rich code which is normally an indication of a bad O2.
     
  4. jfcivicEG

    jfcivicEG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Stratford CT
    I changed the o2 sensor and yes im getting a rich code....the o2 position changed from one cylinder to all 4 idk if that wuld thro it off
     
  5. Kensai

    Kensai ♪♫♪♫♪~ Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,115
    Location:
    California
    Is the timing set to spec?
     
  6. tekfoc

    tekfoc New Member 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    NYC
    Clean or replace fuel injectors
     
  7. jfcivicEG

    jfcivicEG New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Stratford CT
    Timing belt was just done and everything was fine until changed the headers
     
  8. Cobl18

    Cobl18 New Member Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    335
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    put the stock headers on and see if the problem consists?
     


Loading...

Share This Page