Weak spark -really baffled

Riick

Hi, hoping someone on this forum can help. Been working on this for 2+ months and it's driving me crazy. I'm a car repair noob so I might have missed something simple. Any thoughts appreciated!

The car won't start because of a bad spark (sometimes weak, sometimes absent, occassionally pops out one nice spark).

First I thought it was the coil because of scorch marks, but a brand new coil didn't help.:???:
Then I saw oil on a sensor in the distributor housing so I put in a used distributor (and a used ECU); worked great for one day.:(
Then I noticed that the engine block was getting 1 volt, which I traced to G1. Cleaned that off (and also G101 and G3) and it worked great for one day.:evil:

No oil on distributor sensors. Getting 12V at coil + and coil -. Getting 9.5V at signal wire. Getting 0.1V at engine block. Test light flashes when cranking (although it only flicks off for just an instant each cycle- is that normal?) I 'm testing the spark at the coil with spark tester gapped 1/8 inch.

Both days it worked I had made some of the ground wires wet while cleaning, but the negligible engine voltage even after things are dry makes me think that may not be it. I might try jumping wires to battery negative (from block, ICM heat sink, each of 4 ECU ground wires) just to confirm. What else can I try here?

RonJ

Banned
Have an auto parts store test the ICM.

Resistance test the coil.

What's the resistance between G101 and G1?

Does the fuel pump always prime?

Any CEL codes?

Riick

No codes.

Fuel pump primes every time I'm listening for it.

Coil has 16,000 ohms from coil negative to secondary. I can't measure fractional ohms with my multimeter but coil positive to coil negative is very close to zero. (It seems unlikely that the brand new coil plus my two new used ones would have all failed there although I suppose it's possible)

I'll check the G101 to G1 resistance tomorrow.