What should i do? School, work, or both?

tienr

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Right now, I am majoring in Electrical Engineering Technology (EET). I'm attending a local community college and will be getting my Associates Degree this May. I'm am also currently interning at Letterkenny Army Depot (LEAD). Yes, it is a government paid job, and yes, I am currently receiving federal benefits.

I like the job, it's not hard, I work at my own pace, and everyone there (including my supervisor) are really laid back. I use to work on Hellfire, now I'm working on Tow Cobra, and this summer I'll be one of four guys in the new Longbow clean room. Thats about all I can tell you about the job, can't get too specific because its all confidential. Right now as an intern, I make $17. IF I start full time after I graduate, I will be starting at $20/hr at WG-8 Level. After I get hired, I am able to apply for other positions up to WG-11 which is $23/hr. Also, because it is a federal job, my wage gets adjusted every year in March with inflation (this year, i'm getting a 3%)I also get yearly bonuses of up to $1,000 (this year we got $1,500 because we did so good in production that they were able to give us more). Along with that, I get 6hrs of anytime leave and 4 hrs of sick leave every 2 weeks (after 15 years, it bumps up to 8hrs anytime leave). I also get paid 11 national holidays and overtime is at 1.5. Also, I get great medical benefit options, life insurance, dental, etc... They also have a retirement plan called the thrifts savings plan. I figured that if I put in 10% of my checks -into this, I will get over $1 million in return when I retire after 40 years of service.

This to me, sounds very good, but I have other options and can't make up my mind.