Can I Use Stock 91 EF Axles For B18a1 Swap

Discussion in 'Engine Tech / Drivetrain' started by Thewhitecivic, Oct 7, 2011.



Welcome to ClubCivic a Honda Civic Forum

Club Civic is an online Honda Civic forum and community for all Honda Civic enthusiasts. Whether you own a Honda Civic Si, Ex, Type R, Dx, Lx, Cx, Dx, Vx, or even a hybrid you will find valuable information and honda civic car parts on this site. Take a look around to view Honda Civic discussion; including a photo gallery, maintenance information, tech tips, as well as ways to get better performance from your Honda Civic. Visit the Members Ride's to view and rate other member’s Honda Civics. Click here to start viewing the Honda Civic Forums. Before you start posting on this site you will need to register. If you are already registered and not logged in, please login here.

Browse the forums by generation by clicking below or browse all honda civic forums.


  1. Thewhitecivic

    Thewhitecivic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Cudahy
    Just Wondering because im a little confused
    Can i use my [Stock Ef axles] to do my b18a1 swap?
    or do i use the 90-93 b18a1 axles that came with the tranny?
    if so what do i need to do for the 90-93 axles to work on my Ef B18a1 Swap?
    Do I need to even do anything or do they just bolt right up?

    please reply need help
     
  2. 2slo4u

    2slo4u wait4me Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member 10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,285
    Location:
    Tacoma
    you'd need the axles that go with the motor
     
  3. Kensai

    Kensai ♪♫♪♫♪~ Registered VIP Registered OG 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    4,115
    Location:
    California
    If I remember correctly, the hubs on EF steering knuckes are a bit bigger than most of the b-series knuckes.

    Someone verify this please.
     
  4. Blood_Shot

    Blood_Shot Banned Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    olive branch MS
    use the integra axles they go right in
     
  5. Thewhitecivic

    Thewhitecivic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Cudahy
    Ok thank you that helped alot and cleared my confusion
     
  6. jlicrx

    jlicrx New Member Registered VIP 5+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    350
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    not if his Civic is the STD model (originally with D15B1 and 4-speed) in which case he would need to swap knuckles/hubs - the STD model used smaller hubs and smaller axles - in any case you need to remove the dust rings from the inside of the hubs in order to use the Integra axles - otherwise, the axles will bind up on the back of the hub
     
  7. Blood_Shot

    Blood_Shot Banned Registered VIP

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    olive branch MS
    I double checked and this^ is correct
     
  8. Thewhitecivic

    Thewhitecivic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Cudahy
    so i have to take off the dust rings for them to work?
    and yes i do have the little piece or crap standard 4 speed lol
    so i have to take off the dust rings off the knuckles also?
     


Loading...

Share This Page