Looking to get a bike....

EatingYourBrainsY0

Team Sin Motorsports
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
So the time has come and i think i would like to get a street bike this summer.
Im new to this completely!
I want to get something used and just use it to learn to ride and cruise around some times in the summer to the beach and whatnot.

I have no idea what to look for or what is considered a good deal with price VS mileage.
I have been told to not get anything lower than a 500 for my first bike.

Any recommendations on brands out there?
What should i be looking for in a bike?
What do i estimate to spend?
Besides locally and craigslist and ebay, any reputable sites to find one of these from?

dank24

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
ive got a 04 cbr 600rr w/ 9k miles. If your interested. PM me with a offer.

vjf915

Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
What am I missing about the drop-off mail box???
Dank, about how much are you looking to get for the bike?

terceltyler

The Silver Bullet
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
see ive been told to stay 500 and under for your 1st bike. right now im looking at a nija 250

LowNotSlow

Aqua Teen Christmas Force
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
you'll get bored pretty quick. Stay away from the sport 600's but a 650 or 550 would be fine and keep you entertained too.

Beelzebubba

SubGenius Member
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Not to get anything lower than a 500?

The only reason that holds any water whatsoever is that the US is about the only market in the entire world that doesn't get a decent 400.

But the 500 cc mark is perfect starting point.