'96 Civic D16y7: Build Suggestions

Stephen staly

So I'm new to Hondas and I wanna build my d16y7 and get more pull for somewhat cheap without a head swap or a turbo ect what can I do to get more gain?

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
I wanna build my d16y7 and get more pull for somewhat cheap without a head swap or a turbo ect what can I do to get more gain?
Nothing.
Budget and goals will guide you.
How fast do you want to be, how much do you have to spend?
If you want to be "fast" you bought the wrong car.
Cheap, fast, reliable....you can only choose two.

Stephen staly

Nothing.
Budget and goals will guide you.
How fast do you want to be, how much do you have to spend?
If you want to be "fast" you bought the wrong car.
Cheap, fast, reliable....you can only choose two.
Well over time quite a bit but I'm trying to get some gain what could I add to got more pull out of my car. I would be interested in a swap but that's alot of bs sensors ect some crazy s**t. It's all stock and its not bad I just don't know where to start. I do have a cold air intake. What about a throttle body spacer and a big bore throttle body. Theres gotta be something

Mr.Baker

Mr. Search
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Just like I said before, budget and goals!
Why waste money on d series motor parts if you plan to swap to a b series down the road, for example.

I'm going to post what I posted a few days ago....

BEFORE YOU DO ANY MODIFICATIONS & since you may not know much about the car, get it running as best as possible in its current stage. A basic tune-up is in order.
Replace:
-Distributor cap and rotor
-Spark plugs & wires
-All filters (air, fuel, oil)