Powerful B-series motor swap?

hondamaster719

Registered VIP
I notice everyone saying the b16 motors are gutless.. so I'm having second thoughts on building one up and maybe going to a b18 block? What do you guys think.

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
They are gutless as is. You can build it to be awesome though. If you just did bolt ons then it wouldn't yield great numbers

Blayze2010

5th gen lover
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
build the engine and boooooooooooooooooooooooooost

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
Either low compression pistons and boost that bad boy or stroke the motor to a 1.8 and build n/a

hondamaster719

Registered VIP
Sweet.. gonna have to make a build thread. Is there anything I should worry about when buying a used b16 block. Such as warping or something? (Newbie here. Sorry)

mc360

boosted hx
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
They are very gutless but then again I have never rode in a Gsr but my d16y5 felt like it pulled harder off the line than my friends em1.I would either buy a Gsr or go cheap and build a b20 vtec with good rods and pistons, if done right there reliable. I watched an ls vtec turbo on the dyno in person put out 467 hp and 330tq

b16lewis

Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
B16's are indestructible. Gutless? I think not. I have had many of them never one problem, from stock to over 500.

CHILD

All Day, All JDM
Registered VIP
Registered OG
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
The b16 is pretty tough inside because there's soo much metal left. But regardless, they are lacking in torque. The ability to rev super high doesn't make up for the torque loss. They are fun and can take a beating, but raw form power is sub par

Killa_CiViC

When Honda's Attack!
Registered VIP
5+ Year Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Either low compression pistons and boost that bad boy or stroke the motor to a 1.8 and build n/a